Quick note on LJ Elections

As many of you already know, I spent the better part of my childhood and young adulthood involved in politics because my father was an Illinois State Senator for nearly two decades before his retirement (yes, he knew President Obama back in his days as a young Senator).

I learned from my father that people can and do make a difference in government, but they have to take action; they have to get interested and involved.

So when Kyle Cassidy ( ) announced his intention to run for LJ Advisory Board, it hit home, and I was excited for him. I admire Kyle for his work, his innovation, and his enthusiasm. An LJ user for a long time, Kyle has a good grasp of the needs of users and I think he’d be excellent in this role.

I encourage you to go to Kyle Cassidy’s journal and read what he has to say about his involvement.

He has my vote. I encourage you to seriously consider his nomination and vote.

(The polls will close at 4:30 p.m. PDT on Friday June 26, 2009)

Published by Valya

Valya Dudycz Lupescu has been making magic with food and words for more than 20 years, incorporating folklore from her Ukrainian heritage with practices that honor the Earth. She’s a writer, content developer, instructor, and mother of three teenagers. Valya is the author of THE SILENCE OF TREES and the founding editor of CONCLAVE: A Journal of Character. Along with Stephen H. Segal, she is the co-author of FORKING GOOD: An Unofficial Cookbook for Fans of The Good Place and GEEK PARENTING: What Joffrey, Jor-El, Maleficent, and the McFlys Teach Us about Raising a Family (Quirk Books), and co-founder of the Wyrd Words storytelling laboratory. Valya earned her MFA in Writing from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and her poetry and prose have been published in anthologies and magazines that include, The Year's Best Dark Fantasy & Horror, Kenyon Review, Culture, Gargoyle Magazine, Gone Lawn, Strange Horizons, Mythic Delirium. You can find her on Twitter @valya.

Leave a Reply