The things that make us happy make us wise.

Kevin Neilson turned me onto John Crowley’s novel Little, Big earlier this year, and I loved it.

For those unfamiliar, Little, Big is a literary feast of the finest craftsmanship: full of families, fairies, secrets, love, loss, and magic. It’s an epic tale that spans generations, and though its movement may be a bit slow, it is well worth the investment to become enveloped in that lush atmosphere and those unforgettable characters.

Kevin was fortunate to get an interview with John Crowley on his site, Between the Lines. I invite you to check out the interview, and if you’re looking for something to read, consider Crowley.

Published by Valya

Valya Dudycz Lupescu has been making magic with food and words for more than 20 years, incorporating folklore from her Ukrainian heritage with practices that honor the Earth. She’s a writer, content developer, instructor, and mother of three teenagers. Valya is the author of THE SILENCE OF TREES and the founding editor of CONCLAVE: A Journal of Character. Along with Stephen H. Segal, she is the co-author of FORKING GOOD: An Unofficial Cookbook for Fans of The Good Place and GEEK PARENTING: What Joffrey, Jor-El, Maleficent, and the McFlys Teach Us about Raising a Family (Quirk Books), and co-founder of the Wyrd Words storytelling laboratory. Valya earned her MFA in Writing from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and her poetry and prose have been published in anthologies and magazines that include, The Year's Best Dark Fantasy & Horror, Kenyon Review, Culture, Gargoyle Magazine, Gone Lawn, Strange Horizons, Mythic Delirium. You can find her on Twitter @valya.

3 thoughts on “The things that make us happy make us wise.”

  1. swampwitch says:

    I read this last year on the recommendation of R.J. Stewart. It was A LOT to process but an excellent read. Not for everyone. I will have to go look at this interview. Thanks for sharing this.

  2. kylecassidy says:

    they read from this at dimitri & cat’s wedding. how strange!

  3. charyvna says:

    Strange indeed! I love little interconnected synchronicities like this.

    Hugs to you and Trillian.

Leave a Reply