A year of mad beauty and so many shades of joy

Tonight was a relatively quiet end to a year that was anything but quiet. I would not have it any other way.

2010 was an incredible year: published a novel and literary magazine, celebrated Chicago’s literary history, partied with rockstars, writers, composers, and photographers, renovated a house and cultivated a home, celebrated friendship among American Gods, and danced in the kitchen with the three magical people I’m blessed to have for children. I rekindled and reconnected with dear ones, was awed by art and inspired to continue living a life of creativity and connection.

It was a good year. Thank you to everyone who helped to make it possible. I am blessed and grateful and excited about what the future will bring.

May your new year be wonder-filled.

Happy New Year.

xxo

Published by Valya

Valya Dudycz Lupescu has been making magic with food and words for more than 20 years, incorporating folklore from her Ukrainian heritage with practices that honor the Earth. She’s a writer, content developer, instructor, and mother of three teenagers. Valya is the author of THE SILENCE OF TREES and the founding editor of CONCLAVE: A Journal of Character. Along with Stephen H. Segal, she is the co-author of FORKING GOOD: An Unofficial Cookbook for Fans of The Good Place and GEEK PARENTING: What Joffrey, Jor-El, Maleficent, and the McFlys Teach Us about Raising a Family (Quirk Books), and co-founder of the Wyrd Words storytelling laboratory. Valya earned her MFA in Writing from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and her poetry and prose have been published in anthologies and magazines that include, The Year's Best Dark Fantasy & Horror, Kenyon Review, Culture, Gargoyle Magazine, Gone Lawn, Strange Horizons, Mythic Delirium. You can find her on Twitter @valya.

Leave a Reply