A Wave

We decided to take a little holiday in Minneapolis during the kids’ Spring Break. We’re staying through May 1, to see the May Day Parade, joined by friends from Chicago also up for the weekend.

We drove up all day yesterday, first listening to an audiobook of Dr Seuss stories, then to the beginning of Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book. The kids loved it each time he read “Miss Lupescu,” except for Liam who insisted that I am a much prettier Miss Lupescu than the one described by Neil. 😉

Today we explored the Mall of America (MOA). Truth be told, I don’t like shopping malls (especially indoor malls), but it was a rainy, cold day in Minneapolis, and the MOA has an aquarium. So I was convinced (or outvoted?)

After a little shopping, some cool marine life, giant Lego creations, tasty gelato, chopstick adventures, and more rides than we’ve ridden in the last year, we took the tuckered out kids back to the hotel and tucked them in.

I’m trying to catch up with email and a bit of writing, and tomorrow we hope for a sunny day to explore more of this lovely city.

Published by Valya

Valya Dudycz Lupescu has been making magic with food and words for more than 20 years, incorporating folklore from her Ukrainian heritage with practices that honor the Earth. She’s a writer, content developer, instructor, and mother of three teenagers. Valya is the author of THE SILENCE OF TREES and the founding editor of CONCLAVE: A Journal of Character. Along with Stephen H. Segal, she is the co-author of FORKING GOOD: An Unofficial Cookbook for Fans of The Good Place and GEEK PARENTING: What Joffrey, Jor-El, Maleficent, and the McFlys Teach Us about Raising a Family (Quirk Books), and co-founder of the Wyrd Words storytelling laboratory. Valya earned her MFA in Writing from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and her poetry and prose have been published in anthologies and magazines that include, The Year's Best Dark Fantasy & Horror, Kenyon Review, Culture, Gargoyle Magazine, Gone Lawn, Strange Horizons, Mythic Delirium. You can find her on Twitter @valya.

Leave a Reply