Doorways and jackhammers

Remember the mysterious hole in our basement that I wrote about last year? (No? Read  about it here.)

A few weeks ago, the heavy Chicago storms resulted in flooding in our basement. When we decided to finally get drainage tiles put in, we also decided to cut into the wall and excavate the dirt so we can use the space.

So the morning began with jackhammers and ended with cutting into the wall. Tomorrow they remove the dirt. There is a lot of it.

Tonight I’ll go to sleep dreaming about what could possibly be buried underneath.

Sweet dreams.

😉

Published by Valya

Valya Dudycz Lupescu has been making magic with food and words for more than 20 years, incorporating folklore from her Ukrainian heritage with practices that honor the Earth. She’s a writer, content developer, instructor, and mother of three teenagers. Valya is the author of THE SILENCE OF TREES and the founding editor of CONCLAVE: A Journal of Character. Along with Stephen H. Segal, she is the co-author of FORKING GOOD: An Unofficial Cookbook for Fans of The Good Place and GEEK PARENTING: What Joffrey, Jor-El, Maleficent, and the McFlys Teach Us about Raising a Family (Quirk Books), and co-founder of the Wyrd Words storytelling laboratory. Valya earned her MFA in Writing from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and her poetry and prose have been published in anthologies and magazines that include, The Year's Best Dark Fantasy & Horror, Kenyon Review, Culture, Gargoyle Magazine, Gone Lawn, Strange Horizons, Mythic Delirium. You can find her on Twitter @valya.

Leave a Reply