Wiper Beat

Most days I feel like I’m living in a musical. The kids spontaneously break into song or dance at random moments, and I’m usually happy for their creativity (except when I’m trying to take a  business call). Well, thanks to the influence of beatboxing on the PBS show The Electric Company, and random clips and songs the kids have seen from composer Sxip Shirey, they are often inspired to grab household objects and try coax (i.e. beat) sounds out of them, accompanied by some sort of attempt at beatboxing or singing.

Driving home from school today, the kids were inspired by the windshield wipers in the rain and did the following little number.

They call their composition, Wiper Beat.

Published by Valya

Valya Dudycz Lupescu has been making magic with food and words for more than 20 years, incorporating folklore from her Ukrainian heritage with practices that honor the Earth. She’s a writer, content developer, instructor, and mother of three teenagers. Valya is the author of THE SILENCE OF TREES and the founding editor of CONCLAVE: A Journal of Character. Along with Stephen H. Segal, she is the co-author of FORKING GOOD: An Unofficial Cookbook for Fans of The Good Place and GEEK PARENTING: What Joffrey, Jor-El, Maleficent, and the McFlys Teach Us about Raising a Family (Quirk Books), and co-founder of the Wyrd Words storytelling laboratory. Valya earned her MFA in Writing from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and her poetry and prose have been published in anthologies and magazines that include, The Year's Best Dark Fantasy & Horror, Kenyon Review, Culture, Gargoyle Magazine, Gone Lawn, Strange Horizons, Mythic Delirium. You can find her on Twitter @valya.

Leave a Reply