Spring Has Returned

“Spring has returned. The Earth is like a child that knows poems.” —Rainer Maria Rilke

February felt heavy and thick–a month of molasses. I was productive, but it seemed to take more effort than usual with little left over at the end of the day.

I was ready for March.

When it came, it felt like something in me thawed along with the ground. March brought with Spring, art, adventure, a new book in the works, and stories to polish.

The month began with a weekend retreat with friends on Lake Michigan,  several of whom I hadn’t seen in a few years. Precious time filled with laughter and reflection.

dekoven1

This week, the fabulous Katelan Foisy is in town to meet with her Art rep and for other business.

With Katelan at Milk & Honey in Chicago
With Katelan at Milk & Honey in Chicago

I’m delighted she’s staying with us. The kids and cats have adopted her, and I suspect they may not allow her to leave.

Katelankids

Her visit has been filled with new friends, late-night chats, and so much laughter. It’s food for the soul–easy and stimulating conversation about life and art, the people who inspire us, the places that capture our hearts.

juliekatalanruby
Julie and Katalan at the Ruby Room in Wicker Park.

This time with her is a gift. Katelan is a wonderful artist, a talented intuitive, and a treasured friend.

One of Katelan Foisy’s paintings.

Her tarot workshop at Madame Zuzu’s Teahouse in Highland Park was well-attended, comprehensive, and exciting. Katelan is currently at work on her own tarot deck (and I cannot wait to get my hands on it!)

Katelan teaching tarot at Madame Zuzu's Teahouse in Highland Park.
Katelan teaching tarot at Madame Zuzu’s Teahouse in Highland Park.

(Katelan’s been blogging about her visit, and you can read more here.)

As is the case with friends from afar, it will be hard to say goodbye. At the same time, it’s a blessing to have friends scattered around the world. Wherever they are, home is.  Their friendships help to make this world a little smaller and a lot more joyful.

Published by Valya

Valya Dudycz Lupescu has been making magic with food and words for more than 20 years, incorporating folklore from her Ukrainian heritage with practices that honor the Earth. She’s a writer, content developer, instructor, and mother of three teenagers. Valya is the author of THE SILENCE OF TREES and the founding editor of CONCLAVE: A Journal of Character. Along with Stephen H. Segal, she is the co-author of FORKING GOOD: An Unofficial Cookbook for Fans of The Good Place and GEEK PARENTING: What Joffrey, Jor-El, Maleficent, and the McFlys Teach Us about Raising a Family (Quirk Books), and co-founder of the Wyrd Words storytelling laboratory. Valya earned her MFA in Writing from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and her poetry and prose have been published in anthologies and magazines that include, The Year's Best Dark Fantasy & Horror, Kenyon Review, Culture, Gargoyle Magazine, Gone Lawn, Strange Horizons, Mythic Delirium. You can find her on Twitter @valya.

2 thoughts on “Spring Has Returned”

  1. Katelan says:

    You are magic.

  2. Valya says:

    So are you. Xxo

Leave a Reply