Wednesday’s Wolves

We are already running late when Liam runs up the stairs shouting, “Mom, there are wolves outside our door! Wolves, Mom!”

Now, we love Neil Gaiman’s The Wolves in the Wall as much as anyone (for obvious reasons), so I’m *sure* he’s kidding. I’m certain that when I go downstairs I will encounter playdough animals stuck to the window or sock puppets hanging from doorknobs or drawings of giant paws on the wall…or something equally creative but slightly taxing on an already late morning. Wolves
I did NOT expect to actually see two giant beautiful furry animals with sad eyes peering into my foyer.

Not wolves, but pretty close. 🙂

The kids walked to school, and I called numbers from Alice’s (the lovely gray one is named Alice) tag, and eventually their person came to happily collect them. (Apparently their foreign exchange student left the gate open.)

Now it’s time for coffee.

A good reminder, that just when you think you know what the day is going to look like…sometimes you get wolves. #happywednesday

Published by Valya

Valya Dudycz Lupescu has been making magic with food and words for more than 20 years, incorporating folklore from her Ukrainian heritage with practices that honor the Earth. She’s a writer, content developer, instructor, and mother of three teenagers. Valya is the author of THE SILENCE OF TREES and the founding editor of CONCLAVE: A Journal of Character. Along with Stephen H. Segal, she is the co-author of FORKING GOOD: An Unofficial Cookbook for Fans of The Good Place and GEEK PARENTING: What Joffrey, Jor-El, Maleficent, and the McFlys Teach Us about Raising a Family (Quirk Books), and co-founder of the Wyrd Words storytelling laboratory. Valya earned her MFA in Writing from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and her poetry and prose have been published in anthologies and magazines that include, The Year's Best Dark Fantasy & Horror, Kenyon Review, Culture, Gargoyle Magazine, Gone Lawn, Strange Horizons, Mythic Delirium. You can find her on Twitter @valya.

Leave a Reply