World-building

"Each friend represents a world in us, a world possibly not born until they arrive, and it is only by this meeting that a new world is born."
~Anais Nin
 
Mark and I met a few friends on Saturday evening to celebrate a.) our friend Pat’s 40th, b.) our friend Meg’s new job, and c.) my birthday. We had a tasty albeit slightly rushed Italian dinner at Forno Diablo (rushed because of my time zone glitch and an overbooked Persian restaurant), and then we dashed off to the Party in the Future at ‘s studio where we met new Chicago friends and connected with the wonderful  and  (as well as their charming archaeologist friend whose name escapes me) in Philadelphia via Skype.

The talented Molly Robison played for us, as did our own , and I was delighted to meet some local LJ friends in the flesh. Following the eating, drinking, and transcontinental online banter, we headed to our old haunt Neo with   and  . Just like old times (except we did not stay at the club until our usual 5am, and we did go home to kiss our sleeping children and relieve my babysitting parents…so almost like old times). All that was missing was a late-night stop for Mexican food. 😉

It was a wonderful birthday week and a memorable weekend. I was so happy to spend some time with dear friends (in person and online)–such creative, generous, interesting people!

When I eventually get around to hosting those salons, they are going to be awesome.

Published by Valya

Valya Dudycz Lupescu has been making magic with food and words for more than 20 years, incorporating folklore from her Ukrainian heritage with practices that honor the Earth. She’s a writer, content developer, instructor, and mother of three teenagers. Valya is the author of THE SILENCE OF TREES and the founding editor of CONCLAVE: A Journal of Character. Along with Stephen H. Segal, she is the co-author of FORKING GOOD: An Unofficial Cookbook for Fans of The Good Place and GEEK PARENTING: What Joffrey, Jor-El, Maleficent, and the McFlys Teach Us about Raising a Family (Quirk Books), and co-founder of the Wyrd Words storytelling laboratory. Valya earned her MFA in Writing from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and her poetry and prose have been published in anthologies and magazines that include, The Year's Best Dark Fantasy & Horror, Kenyon Review, Culture, Gargoyle Magazine, Gone Lawn, Strange Horizons, Mythic Delirium. You can find her on Twitter @valya.

2 thoughts on “World-building”

  1. traveler64 says:

    NOW, I get it. Sounds quite fab. ***thinking here…***

Leave a Reply