Reading Naked and Reading Clothed

Tomorrow is the Naked Girls Reading Literary Gala and I am one of 5 finalists to have my work read by the lovely ladies of the Everleigh Club in Chicago.

Reservations are required. You can purchase tickets in advance here.

I will neither be naked nor reading on Friday night, but I will be reading (clothed) from The Silence of Trees at the first Chicago Book Expo to be held in Uptown this weekend.

The Chicago Writers House Project is creating a pop-up bookstore in the empty Uptown’s Borders on Nov. 19-20. Featuring more than 40 fiction and poetry presses, Chicago Book Expo 2011 will also include readings, a nonprofit fair, live performances, and architectural walking tours.

For more information, check out their website www.chicagowritershouse.org . They will have panels, workdhopd, children’s programming and more!

I’ll be at the table for Wolfsword Press/The Chicago Creative Coop. Stop by and say hello! I may have cookies. I’ll also be reading (clothed) on Saturday, November 19, 1:00 pm in the basement of the Uptown Broadway Building (former speakeasy) 4701 N. Broadway.

Published by Valya

Valya Dudycz Lupescu has been making magic with food and words for more than 20 years, incorporating folklore from her Ukrainian heritage with practices that honor the Earth. She’s a writer, content developer, instructor, and mother of three teenagers. Valya is the author of THE SILENCE OF TREES and the founding editor of CONCLAVE: A Journal of Character. Along with Stephen H. Segal, she is the co-author of FORKING GOOD: An Unofficial Cookbook for Fans of The Good Place and GEEK PARENTING: What Joffrey, Jor-El, Maleficent, and the McFlys Teach Us about Raising a Family (Quirk Books), and co-founder of the Wyrd Words storytelling laboratory. Valya earned her MFA in Writing from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and her poetry and prose have been published in anthologies and magazines that include, The Year's Best Dark Fantasy & Horror, Kenyon Review, Culture, Gargoyle Magazine, Gone Lawn, Strange Horizons, Mythic Delirium. You can find her on Twitter @valya.

Leave a Reply