Mama Said

I should have learned this lesson by now. I’m nearly 40, and I’ve been down this road many times before.

I should know better than to ever say, “That has never happened,” or “That will never happen,” to my mother. When I do (and I always do), whatever that thing is that never happens, will happen. Inevitably and usually in the next 24 hours.

Today it was rice krispie treats. My mother asked about my using butter versus margarine.

“Butter burns so easily,” my mother said.

“I’ve never had butter burn when making rice krispie treats,” I told her.

That was it. I cursed myself, and so tonight when I was making my three batches of rice krispie treats (for each of the kids’ Valentine’s Day parties), the butter burned…for the first time ever.

*sigh*

Note to self: Never tell my mother never.

Which makes me wonder: Will I inherit this same superpower to use on my children?

RiceKrisp

Published by Valya

Valya Dudycz Lupescu has been making magic with food and words for more than 20 years, incorporating folklore from her Ukrainian heritage with practices that honor the Earth. She’s a writer, content developer, instructor, and mother of three teenagers. Valya is the author of THE SILENCE OF TREES and the founding editor of CONCLAVE: A Journal of Character. Along with Stephen H. Segal, she is the co-author of FORKING GOOD: An Unofficial Cookbook for Fans of The Good Place and GEEK PARENTING: What Joffrey, Jor-El, Maleficent, and the McFlys Teach Us about Raising a Family (Quirk Books), and co-founder of the Wyrd Words storytelling laboratory. Valya earned her MFA in Writing from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and her poetry and prose have been published in anthologies and magazines that include, The Year's Best Dark Fantasy & Horror, Kenyon Review, Culture, Gargoyle Magazine, Gone Lawn, Strange Horizons, Mythic Delirium. You can find her on Twitter @valya.

Leave a Reply