More Pieces in the ABNA Puzzle

According to the Penguin Blog, the group of 836 submissions will be narrowed down to 100 semi-finalists on February 19th. That doesn’t give us quite as much time as we originally thought. Less than one month to until the next level.

If you turn your attention to the reviews people have posted, you will notice that there is a question under each review that asks if you found the review helpful. You may have noticed that it’s possible to display reviews based on helpfulness votes, but is there more to this voting? Why is it there?

It turns out that there is an entire system behind this helpfulness voting. Positive votes help the rankings of reviewers, while negative votes do the opposite. There is a point system and formula as to how this works, but I don’t know the details.

So please continue to assess the reviews and vote them helpful if you feel that they contribute something positive/constructive. After taking the time to download, read, and evaluate the reviews, it’s nice for reviewers to get feedback as well, and please feel free to comment on the reviews. (Note: I did read somewhere that if you vote for the same review several times in a 24-hour period, all of your votes may get pulled.)

Also note the customer discussion at the bottom of the page. This is another space for you to ask questions, compare notes, and discuss THE SILENCE OF TREES.

Published by Valya

Valya Dudycz Lupescu has been making magic with food and words for more than 20 years, incorporating folklore from her Ukrainian heritage with practices that honor the Earth. She’s a writer, content developer, instructor, and mother of three teenagers. Valya is the author of THE SILENCE OF TREES and the founding editor of CONCLAVE: A Journal of Character. Along with Stephen H. Segal, she is the co-author of FORKING GOOD: An Unofficial Cookbook for Fans of The Good Place and GEEK PARENTING: What Joffrey, Jor-El, Maleficent, and the McFlys Teach Us about Raising a Family (Quirk Books), and co-founder of the Wyrd Words storytelling laboratory. Valya earned her MFA in Writing from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and her poetry and prose have been published in anthologies and magazines that include, The Year's Best Dark Fantasy & Horror, Kenyon Review, Culture, Gargoyle Magazine, Gone Lawn, Strange Horizons, Mythic Delirium. You can find her on Twitter @valya.

Leave a Reply