The Eve of the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Top 100 Semifinalists

Tomorrow Amazon and Penguin are supposed to announce the ABNA Top 100 Semifinalists.

We, the contestants, don’t know really know when or how. Will it be via email? Or a mass list? Posted on Amazon? Posted on Penguin? We shall see. This from the Penguin Blog site:

“This group of submissions will be narrowed down to 100 semi-finalists on February 19th, and Penguin editors will then select the top 10 contestants who will enter the final round, their decisions informed by the ratings and reviews conducted by Publishers Weekly and Amazon.com critics. Amazon customers will then vote on the 10 selected finalists to elect the winner of the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award, which will be announced on April 7th, 2008.”

Speculation and theories abound on the Discussion Forums as anxious writers await the news. I will certainly keep you all posted.

Whatever happens, thank you to everyone who has done a review and rallied support. I appreciate your time and the kinds words and constructive criticisms.

I look forward to sharing this book in its entirety with you someday!


Published by Valya

Valya Dudycz Lupescu has been making magic with food and words for more than 20 years, incorporating folklore from her Ukrainian heritage with practices that honor the Earth. She’s a writer, content developer, instructor, and mother of three teenagers. Valya is the author of THE SILENCE OF TREES and the founding editor of CONCLAVE: A Journal of Character. Along with Stephen H. Segal, she is the co-author of FORKING GOOD: An Unofficial Cookbook for Fans of The Good Place and GEEK PARENTING: What Joffrey, Jor-El, Maleficent, and the McFlys Teach Us about Raising a Family (Quirk Books), and co-founder of the Wyrd Words storytelling laboratory. Valya earned her MFA in Writing from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and her poetry and prose have been published in anthologies and magazines that include, The Year's Best Dark Fantasy & Horror, Kenyon Review, Culture, Gargoyle Magazine, Gone Lawn, Strange Horizons, Mythic Delirium. You can find her on Twitter @valya.

Leave a Reply