Words Keep Blowing About In Drifts

It never fails. When I plan to go to bed early, I’m hit with inspiration. When I wish to edit the larger manuscript, I’m overwhelmed with short stories. These are not bad problems to have, and I find that it certainly helps me to have several projects in the mix at any given time. I do need to finish up S.C. though, and instead I keep getting these lovely little stories. I promise myself that I’ll just jot down notes, but it never stops there.

This winter it seems the stories are everywhere.

The Groundhog Day Blizzard

Published by Valya

Valya Dudycz Lupescu has been making magic with food and words for more than 20 years, incorporating folklore from her Ukrainian heritage with practices that honor the Earth. She’s a writer, content developer, instructor, and mother of three teenagers. Valya is the author of THE SILENCE OF TREES and the founding editor of CONCLAVE: A Journal of Character. Along with Stephen H. Segal, she is the co-author of FORKING GOOD: An Unofficial Cookbook for Fans of The Good Place and GEEK PARENTING: What Joffrey, Jor-El, Maleficent, and the McFlys Teach Us about Raising a Family (Quirk Books), and co-founder of the Wyrd Words storytelling laboratory. Valya earned her MFA in Writing from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and her poetry and prose have been published in anthologies and magazines that include, The Year's Best Dark Fantasy & Horror, Kenyon Review, Culture, Gargoyle Magazine, Gone Lawn, Strange Horizons, Mythic Delirium. You can find her on Twitter @valya.

Leave a Reply